search envelope-o feed check
Home Unanswered Active Tags New Question
user comment-o

Feel really dumb. How to create a project in VS2005 using source code

Asked by Anonymous
13 years ago.

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to programming, and have been asked by a client to build a calendar application. I'd like to use DayPilot Lite as a launching point. I downloaded and unzipped the files and the demo works great, but I don't know how to start a new project and use the source code to start developing against.

I realize this is 101 stuff, so I appreciate any help.

Justin

Answer posted by Dan Letecky
13 years ago.

Hi Justin,

Please take a look at www.daypilot.org/tutorial.html. It's a step by step tutorial that might help. Please let me know if there is something not clear enough in the tutorial.

Comment posted by Anonymous
13 years ago.

Hi Dan,

Thanks for your response. I guess I'm a bit confused. What I'd like to do is take DayPilot Lite and build on it (really, we're just too poor to buy DayPilot, so we're going to try to develop our own functionality on top of your great product).

Here's where my ignorance comes in. My understanding is that the .dll is just compiled source code. That means I don't want to reference it in a project if I want to modify the code and introduce new functionality. I guess I thought that's why you included the "Source" folder - so that I could add new code to it, compile it, and create my own "DayPilot Custom" application. Am I wrong in that?

If my understanding was correct, I guess my question is how to go about modifying the source code. When I open the DayPilot Lite "Source" folder in VS2005, there is a "Properties" folder, a "References" folder, a "Utils" folder, and a "Web" folder. You obviously know that the Utils and Web folder are full of .cs files that make up the various classes for your app. But how do I create a project where I can modify the code and test out my changes.